Torontomatic


Is Microsoft Vista on life support?

Well it’s been about 6-7 months since the official release of Microsoft Vista. So what is the verdict? If the numbers are correct, it looks like Microsoft Windows Millennium is not quite dead. Vista was supposed to be all new and better. It was supposed to feel like the day Windows 95 was released. Do you remember that day? It should have been a new beginning; however it is starting to look like a tragic end. Lets be honest, I currently use Vista and it is not that bad. It’s also not that great! I built myself a brand new PC and opted to load the dependability of Windows XP. I know what you are thinking now. Why didn’t I go with Linux, BSD or Apple? Although I have used and tested Ubuntu, Dreamlinux and a few other variants for years, I had a nightmare experience with Ubuntu that forced me to buy XP. But, I will save that for another post.

Really Vista was damaged goods from the beginning. I took too long to develop and they dropped too many features to make it a worthwhile upgrade. Unfortunately, Microsoft is in a precarious position at the moment. With Dell, Acer and others jumping on the Linux bandwagon and also offering XP, as a downgrade (or upgrade – depending on how you see it) it does not bode well. I think Microsoft has to forget Vista and move on. There were just too many hardware incompatibilities and problems at start. Now the reputation of Vista is tarnished. I speak with individuals, non-technical, who already have opinions about Vista. This is not good! Again, I do not think Vista is that bad. Just not worth the price and I just think some things should have been thoroughly analyzed before the release.

So what does the future hold? Well, who knows! Apple will release a new Operating System soon, with its guarded secrets. Not sure if I will get one myself and take the dive in the Apple world. Although I had one bad experience with Ubuntu, it does not cover the years of stability and dependability. On the other hand, I feel that in the future the Web will be the OS. It is practically that today. Tell me, how much processing power do you really need to do Internet related work? Is that PC upgrade really worth it? More and more web-based applications (using AJAX) are being released. I will eventually make the dive to Linux permanently, in the near future, unless something changes with Microsoft. Companies like Microsoft will need a major shift forward. People are not willing to pay large amounts of money for applications anymore. Microsoft better quickly find a new revenue stream, because if they don’t they will become a dinosaur of the past.

By: Torontomatic


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice article. But OS monopoly is bad. Right now 95% of the OS market is captured by MS. Imagine that there is a major bug in their OS and it affects every other computer at the same time. Everything will be put down to a standstill.We should encourage OS diversity . Give a chance to linux. Most of the time it creates problems due to unawareness of the system. But this is an OS that gives you ability to understand the system.

Regards
Amar
http://amardeka.wordpress.com/

Comment by amardeka

The anti-Vista backlash I predicted back in June is starting to gather momentum. There is also a very damning article on CNet, saying much the same thing.

Comment by Dennis Wright

[…] Just to emphasise the point here is another post on similar lines from Torontomatic – Is Microsoft Vista on life support? […]

Pingback by The Vista backlash gathers momentum « Hasta la vista, Vista!




Leave a comment